Colorado State University’s 50 Year Club Presents Award Andelects New Officers

Colorado State University’s 50 Year Club presented an award to an outstanding supporter and elected new board members over Homecoming weekend. The club includes members who graduated from Colorado State at least 50 years ago.

The 50 Year Club Award is presented each year to a club member who has been an avid supporter and friend of Colorado State. John Toliver, of Fort Collins, received the award during this year’s Homecoming festivities.

Toliver graduated in 1934 with a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering. He has remained a loyal alumnus, serving on the 125th anniversary commemorative committee, the Hall of Fame nominating committee, Former Athletes Association board of directors, and as president of the Ramkin Club and president of the 50 Year Club. Toliver’s career has included work as an engineer, service in the military during World War II and owning and operating a hardware store, as well as numerous community service activities.

The 50 Year Club was started in the early 1960s and currently has more than 1,600 members. This year, graduates of the class of 1947 were inducted and new board members were elected. New officers on the club’s board of directors for 1997- 98 include Virginia Boyes of Greeley as president, Janice Peyton of Fort Collins as vice president and Rod Chisholm of Fort Collins as secretary/treasurer. New board members include Bob Oldemeyer of Longmont, Pauline Puleston of Fort Collins and Jim Banghart of Fort Collins. Continuing board members include Grace Hittle of Fort Collins, Betty Wilson of Fort Collins and Sally Zimdahl of Longmont.