Colorado State University Recognizes Donors and Celebrates Successes with Annual 1870 Recognition Dinner (1997)

Colorado State University will recognize major donors and celebrate fundraising successes of the past year at the annual 1870 Recognition Dinner set for Nov. 7.

The dinner is a tribute to Colorado State’s 1870 Club members, private donors who contribute gifts of $1,870 or more annually to the university. Club members include individuals, corporations, foundations and organizations.

During the evening, major donors of the past year will receive special recognition. To commemorate the 10th anniversary of the 1870 Recognition Dinner, the original members of the 1870 Club also will be recognized at the event.

In addition, several large gifts will be announced and the university’s fundraising achievements for the 1996-97 fiscal year will be reported.

The 1870 Club was named in honor of the university’s founding in 1870. The university also offers three other lifetime-giving societies that recognize the cumulative gifts of donors. They include the Presidents Society, recognizing cumulative commitments between $25,000-$99,999; the Morgan Society for contributions between $100,000-$999,999; and the Lory Society for gifts of $1 million or more.

"For 10 years, the members of the 1870 Club have supported Colorado State University’s mission. The 1870 Dinner is a university event to pay tribute to these individuals and offer an opportunity to celebrate what our collective support has accomplished," said Richard Robinson, chairman of Colorado State’s Development Council, 1870 Club member and chairman and chief executive officer of Robinson Dairy, Inc. of Denver. "As a strong community of people who care deeply about Colorado State University, we are proud to continue the tradition of philanthropy and support a great university."

The 1870 Recognition Dinner has earned a reputation as the most elegant annual event on campus. This year, the program will focus on donor recognition and will include an address by Colorado State’s President Albert Yates, entertainment from the University Chamber Singers and closing remarks from student government officers.

The 1870 Recognition Dinner begins at 6 p.m. in the Main Ballroom of the Lory Student Center.