Colorado State University President to be Honored as Foundation’s Man of the Year

Colorado State University President Albert Yates will be honored as the ARCS Foundation’s Man of the Year at a luncheon Nov. 12.

ARCS, Achievement Rewards for College Scientists, is a national foundation that provides scholarships for undergraduate and graduate students studying science.

"ARCS is delighted to honor President Yates and recognize him for his dedication to the sciences and his outstanding contributions as an administrator," said Ann Lowdermilk, president of the Denver chapter of ARCS. "President Yates epitomizes all the qualities that ARCS stands for."

During the luncheon, the Denver chapter of the ARCS Foundation will honor President Yates and award $80,000 in scholarship funds to 19 students, including four students from Colorado State. The Colorado State students are Kirk Oystol, Matthew Bigelow, Carter Neal and Jenny Rodgers. Other recipients include students from the University of Colorado-Boulder, Colorado School of Mines and the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center.

Yates has served as president of Colorado State University and Chancellor of the Colorado State University System since 1990. His professional and community activities have included service on the board of directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City, Denver Branch; the board of trustees of the Rose Foundation; the Executive Committee of the Graduate Record Examination Board; the National Advisory General Medical Sciences Council of the National Institutes of Health; the National Science Foundation’s Advisory Committee on Chemistry; the Board of Regents of the University of Portland; the First Interstate Bank board of directors; the Fort Collins Chamber of Commerce board of directors; one of the founders of the Cultural Diversity Task Force in Fort Collins; the Colorado Commission for Achievement in Education; and the Federal Judicial Advisory Commission of Colorado.

Yates’ honors and awards include the Fort Collins Chamber of Commerce President’s Award in recognition of outstanding contributions to university and community relations; the University of Cincinnati Award for Excellence; the Daniel Payne Award for continued support of Colorado higher education; and the Denver Public Schools Celebration of Excellence Award for outstanding contributions to Colorado education.

In 1995, the University of Cincinnati rededicated its Graduate Minority Fellows and Scholars Program as the Albert C. Yates Fellows and Scholars Program, in honor of his leadership at that institution. During his tenure there, Yates served as vice president and university dean for graduate studies and research.

Since its inception in 1958, ARCS has awarded more than $25 million to more than 7,000 top students across the nation. The Denver chapter has awarded more than $700,000 since its founding in 1976.

The luncheon will be held at the University Park Holiday Inn in Fort Collins. A reception at 11:30 a.m. will be followed by lunch and the awards program at noon. Jim Benemen of Channel 9 in Denver will serve as master of ceremonies. The event is open to the public, but reservations are necessary. Cost is $40.

For more information or to make reservations, call Betty Ambler at the ARCS Foundation at (303) 722-5331.