State Board of Agriculture Welcomes Two New Members

Two community and business leaders will be joining the State Board of Agriculture at its meeting today.

"Fresh ideas and fresh enthusiasm always are welcome additions to the board," said Chuck Mabry, president of the SBA. "We’re enthusiastic about Don Hamstra and Jeff Shoemaker joining us."

Hamstra, an administrator for the Brighton Medical Group, was mayor of Brighton from 1990-95 and has been chairman of the Brighton Chamber of Commerce and president of the Brighton Kiwanis. He previously worked as a senior vice president for Platte Valley Medical Center in Brighton and was an accountant for Lake Michigan College in Benton Harbor and at Riverside General Hospital in California. He also was internal auditor and audit manager for Adventist Health System in Kansas.

He received a master’s of business administration from the University of Missouri-Kansas City and a bachelor’s from Andrews University in Berrien Springs, Michigan. He is married to Dr. Susan Hamstra and enjoys sports, reading, outdoor activities and travel.

Shoemaker, executive director of the Greenway Foundation, served in the Colorado House of Representatives from 1987-92, where he was chairman of the Education Committee from 1990-92.

He graduated from the University of Colorado-Boulder with a bachelor of music education (with highest honors) in 1978 and a bachelor of music in 1977. He was music teacher in Colorado Springs from 1978-82 and was a private music teacher. He also was director of the Youth Choir at St. Paul’s Methodist Church. He is married to Jeannine West Shoemaker and has two children, Courtney and Camille. He enjoys golf, kayaking and photography.

The State Board of Agriculture is the governing board of the Colorado State University System, which is comprised of Colorado State University, the University of Southern Colorado and Fort Lewis College. The board consists of nine voting members appointed by the governor of Colorado and confirmed by the Colorado State Senate, and six elected advisory members. Hamstra and Shoemaker will serve four-year terms.