Colorado State University Women’s Association to Award Scholarships

Members of the Colorado State University Women’s Association not only share an interest in gardening, bridge and literature, they also share a mission of providing many students with the means to attend college. This year, the association is sponsoring $15,000 in scholarships and will administer an additional $10,000 in awards from several other scholarship funds. The annual award total of $25,000 is the largest in the association’s history.

Colorado State students are invited to apply for $1,500 and $1,000 scholarships for the 2000-2001 academic year. Applications are due March 15.

The Colorado State University Women’s Association was created in the early 1900s by Carrie Lory, wife of Colorado State President Charles A. Lory, to provide social interaction among wives of faculty members. Shortly after founding the association, Mrs. Lory developed a loan fund for students which was the genesis of the association’s scholarship program. The organization now is open to anyone with an interest in Colorado State University. Its primary mission is to build support for the university.

For an association scholarship, an applicant must be at least a junior in the 2000-2001 academic year. An applicant must be a Colorado resident, have a minimum 3.0 grade-point average and must demonstrate financial need.

The association also administers additional scholarships for freshmen, sophomores, juniors and seniors. These scholarships include the Romerta F. Cook Memorial Scholarship, the Lilla B. Morgan Memorial Scholarship, an award from the Stella Morris Payne Charitable Fund, the Ardity Briggs Kerst Scholarship, the Ralph Francis and Fern Howard Briggs Scholarship and the Shirley Knox Memorial Scholarship. These scholarships have varying selection criteria.

Application forms are available at the Office of Women’s Programs and Studies, at the Office of Resources for Adult Learners and at Student Financial Services. Completed applications must be returned to the Office of Women’s Programs and Studies, Room 112 Student Services Building, by 3 p.m. March 15. Selection will be made by April 15. For more information, contact Ann Yates, chair of the scholarship selection committee, at (970) 491-4939.

Student scholarship recipients for the 1999-2000 academic year follow.

  • Judy Baffico, a senior majoring in Business Administration and Computer Information Systems, with a minor in Spatial Information Management;
  • Carolyn Cruz, a junior majoring in Natural Resource Management and also enrolled in the Nonprofit Agency Administration Interdisciplinary Program
  • Zerina Davis, a senior majoring in Agricultural Business
  • Marissa Deffenbaugh, a junior majoring in Soil and Crop Sciences, with a minor in Watershed Science
  • Laura Diehl, a graduate student in Professional Veterinary Medicine
  • Lisa Downey, a graduate student in Bioagricultural Sciences and Pest Management
  • Bethany Espeseth, a junior majoring in Accounting
  • Erin Ewing, a senior majoring in Human Nutrition and Food Science
  • Harmony Hey, a senior majoring in Psychology, with a minor in Theatre
  • Rae Lynn Ortega, a junior majoring in Microbiology
  • Monique Plankinton, a graduate student in Professional Veterinary Medicine
  • Cynthia Reffler, a senior with a double major in Construction Management and History
  • Jeannine Riess, a senior majoring in Environmental Health
  • Mischa Rotkovich, a senior in the Professional Veterinary Medicine program
  • Jennifer Sandberg, a junior majoring in Human Development and Family Studies
  • Crystal Torres, a sophomore majoring in Health and Exercise Science, with a minor in Anatomy and Physiology and a certificate in Chicano Studies
  • Lori Walter, a junior majoring in Apparel Design and Merchandising.