National Western Stock Show Helps Colorado State University Students Continue Education

Colorado State University students get help from the National Western Stock Show though scholarships funded by events during the National Western. The scholarship program, through the university’s College of Agricultural Sciences, helps 24 students each year complete their undergraduate and graduate programs.

Each year, some of the proceeds from the National Western Stock Show’s art show and junior livestock sale fund the scholarships, which are given to undergraduate and graduate students. The scholarships are renewed if the students perform well academically. Total, cumulative individual awards range from $1,000 to $4,500.

The scholarships include 20 National Western Stock Show scholarships; two scholarships named for Jim Henry, a long-time supporter of the NWSS and Colorado State; two scholarships funding graduate students involved in the university’s Integrated Resource Management program; and two scholarships funding graduate students in the beef industry program.

Colorado State students receiving funding this year through the National Western Stock Show Beef Industry Fellowship awards are graduate students Sara Albertson of Fruita and Nathan Jaeger of College Station, Texas.

Students receiving National Western Stock Show Scholarships are Katherine Arnold, senior, Denver; Abram Babcock, sophomore, Fort Morgan; Tiffany Barr, sophomore, Pueblo; Denise Barrett, junior, Littleton; Andrea Boody, senior, Canon City; Jeremy Burkett, sophomore, Hillsdale, Wyo; Cristen Cleland, freshman, Erie; Chad Cochran, freshman, Monte Vista; Christel Deland, senior, Peyton; Crystal George; freshman, Ovid; Laura Godowski, freshman, Wray; Ty Groshans, freshman, Yuma; Erin Konkel, sophomore, Johnstown; Julie Kreps, senior, Eaton; Krista May, junior, Byers; Elizabeth Mosey, senior, Spokane, Wash.; Chad Murnin, sophomore, Miles City, Mont.; Sheridan Potter, senior, Cheyenne, Wyo.; Jennifer Sauer, sophomore, Byers; and Molly Waneka, sophomore, Lafayette.

Integrated Resource Management student scholarships from the NWSS were awarded to graduate students Katherine Miller from Tampa, Fla., and Steven Sharkey from Fort Collins.

Arnold and Potter also received National Western Jim Henry scholarships.