Colorado State University Honors Best Educators for 2002

Note to Editors: Reporters are welcome to attend the Best Teacher Awards Ceremony Feb. 15 in the Main Ballroom of the Lory Student Center on campus. A reception will run from 6-7 p.m. and the awards ceremony will begin at 7 p.m. Photos of award winners are available electronically by calling June Greist at (970) 491-1194.

Six of Colorado State University’s top educators have been named Best Teacher award-winners for 2002 and will be honored during a ceremony on Feb. 15.

Best Teacher award-winners for 2002 and their departments are Karla Gingerich, assistant professor, Psychology; Matthew Hickey, associate professor, Health and Exercise Science; John Matsushima, professor, Animal Sciences; David McKelfresh, director, Housing; John Olienyk, professor, Finance and Real Estate; and Erica Suchman, assistant professor, Microbiology.

Students, alumni, faculty and staff nominated individuals for the award last fall. Nominators were asked to describe how the teachers have influenced students’ lives in extraordinary ways. The final six award winners were chosen by Colorado State University’s Alumni board of directors and the Colorado State University Student Alumni Connection. The Best Teachers this year were chosen from a field of 115 nominees.

The Best Teacher Awards Ceremony will include a welcome speech by Colorado State President Albert C. Yates, followed by a reception and speeches by students who nominated the selected educators. Each winner then will be announced and awarded with an obelisk. Joyce Berry, assistant dean of the College of Natural Resources, will be the master of ceremonies for the event.

The awards program, in its seventh year, is sponsored by Colorado State’s Alumni Association and the Student Alumni Connection.