News Advisory: Six of Colorado State University’s Top Educators Have Been Named Best Teacher Award-Winners for 2002

Six of Colorado State University’s top educators have been named Best Teacher award-winners for 2002 and will be honored during a ceremony beginning at 6 p.m. today, Feb. 15.

Best Teacher award-winners for 2002 and their departments are Karla Gingerich, assistant professor, Psychology; Matthew Hickey, associate professor, Health and Exercise Science; John Matsushima, professor emeritus, Animal Sciences; David McKelfresh, director, Residence Life; John Olienyk, professor, Finance and Real Estate; and Erica Suchman, assistant professor, Microbiology.

Reporters are welcome to attend the Best Teacher Awards Ceremony in the Main Ballroom of the Lory Student Center on campus. A reception will run from 6-7 p.m. and the awards program will begin at 7 p.m. The event will include a speech by Colorado State President Albert C. Yates and speeches by students who nominated the selected educators.

Students, alumni, faculty and staff nominated individuals for the award last fall. Nominators were asked to describe how the teachers have influenced students’ lives in extraordinary ways. The final six award winners were chosen by Colorado State University’s Alumni board of directors and the Colorado State University Student Alumni Connection. The Best Teachers this year were chosen from a field of 115 nominees.

The awards program is sponsored by Colorado State’s Alumni Association and the Student Alumni Connection.