Four Finalists Named for Colorado State University’s Dean of Natural Sciences

Four finalists have been selected in the search for a new dean of the College of Natural Sciences at Colorado State University. On-campus interviews and public open forums have been scheduled for each of the candidates later this month and in early April.

The four finalists are Henry P. Miranda, professor and chairman of the mathematics department and interim associate dean of the College of Natural Sciences at Colorado State; Michele G. Wheatly, professor and chairwoman of the biological sciences department at Wright State University; Kirby Gilliland, professor and chairman of the psychology department at the University of Oklahoma; and Peter W. Rabideau, professor of chemistry and dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Iowa State University.

"Because the College of Natural Sciences is an important part of Colorado State, this position requires a strong and capable leader," said James Fry, dean of the Graduate School and chairman of the search committee. "The four finalists selected for on-campus interviews all have strong records as teachers, scholars and administrators and bring with them the promise of providing exceptional leadership for this university."

The dates, times and locations for open forums are listed below. The 90-minute forums, open to the public, provide campus and area communities the opportunity to meet and present questions to each candidate.

  • Henry P. Miranda: March 19, 3-4:30 p.m., Room 207, Lory Student Center.
  • Michele G. Wheatly: March 21, 3-4:30 p.m., Room A206, Clark Building.
  • Kirby Gilliland: March 27, 3:30-5 p.m., Room A206, Clark Building.
  • Peter W. Rabideau: April 3, 3:30-5 p.m., Room A206, Clark Building.

"The fact that such an outstanding group of candidates is competing for the dean’s position is another affirmation of the excellence of the College of Natural Sciences," said Tom Sneider, interim dean of the college. "These finalists are among the best in the nation. Judging from their credentials, any one of them ought to be able to provide exemplary leadership to the college and the university."

The College of Natural Sciences is primarily responsible for education and research in biochemistry, biology, chemistry, computer science, mathematics, physics, psychology and statistics, and also for educating students who are studying to be K-12 science and mathematics teachers. The college, enrolling about 3,600 students, encompasses eight departments that offer 10 distinct undergraduate majors.

For additional information, call Sandra Dailey at (970) 491-6817.