Distinguished Service Awards Presented to Outstanding Members of Colorado State University March 21

Colorado State University will honor employees who have made outstanding and lasting contributions to the enhancement of diversity during the 14th annual Minority Distinguished Service Awards Luncheon on March 21. The event takes place at the University Park Holiday Inn, 425 W. Prospect Road in Fort Collins.

Registration and the luncheon will begin at 11:45 a.m., with welcoming remarks beginning at 12:20 p.m. For more information on the luncheon, call 491-5257.

This year’s recipients for the Minority Distinguished Service Awards are Glen D. Rask, College of Agricultural Sciences’ Dean’s Office, recipient of the Academic Faculty award; Alfred Flores Jr., Apartment Life in Housing and Food Services, who will receive the Administrative Professional award; and Amelia Rivera, Graduate School, who will be honored with the State-Classified award.

This year’s recipient of the Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship Award is Ami Felicia Nina, a master’s candidate in the School of Social Work. The Martin Luther King scholarship is awarded to a graduate student for outstanding achievement in academics and in the advancement of minority education.

Guests at the luncheon will include Colorado State Provost Peter Nicholls; Beverly Fenton, director of Native American Student Services; and Fort Collins Mayor Ray Martinez.

Evelyn Hu-DeHart, chairwoman and professor in the Department of Ethnic Studies at the University of Colorado-Boulder, will give the keynote address.

Closing remarks will be made by Norberto Valdez, chairman of Colorado State’s Minority Faculty and Staff Caucus.

The event is sponsored by the Office of the Provost and the Minority Faculty and Staff Caucus.