Robert Salzer Recognized with Distinguished Service Award

Robert Salzer, Colorado State University Cooperative Extension La Plata County office director, received the Distinguished Service Award at the organization’s annual banquet on Sept. 26 in Fort Collins.

The award is given each year by the Cooperative Extension professional fraternity, Epsilon Sigma Phi, to recognize a Cooperative Extension professional in the state who shows continuing leadership and excellence in planning, delivering and evaluating Cooperative Extension involvement and education in their community. The award is given to an employee with more than 20 years of service to the organization.

"We’re pleased to recognize the contributions that Bob has made to the La Plata Cooperative Extension office and to his community with this award," said Milan Rewerts, Colorado State Cooperative Extension director. "Since his appointment as county director two years ago, Robert has made significant changes within the La Plata office. These changes better enable Cooperative Extension to serve the La Plata communities."

Salzer has continued to lead the county’s diverse and dynamic 4-H program while providing leadership to other county staff. He also was in a unique position of sharing office space and equipment with Federal Emergency Management Agency and other fire officials this summer in La Plata when the groups used the office as a fire command center. Salzer has streamlined the functions of the office by reorganizing support staff duties.

Salzer’s accomplishments include serving as an active member and past vice president and president of the Colorado Association of Extension 4-H Agents and holding offices in Epsilon Sigma Phi including vice president, president, president elect and past president. Salzar has served as a Colorado State Fair 4-H and natural resources superintendent and is on the Colorado 4-H Youth Fund board. He is past recipient of the Alton Scofield Distinguished Service Award and of the National Association of Extension 4-H Agents Distinguished Service Award.