Colorado State University Recognizes Donors at 1870 Event Nov. 1

Colorado State University will recognize major donors at the annual 1870 Recognition Dinner set for Nov. 1.

The 1870 dinner pays tribute to 1870 Club donors, private donors who contribute gifts of $1,870 or more annually to the university. The 1870 Club was named in honor of the university’s founding in 1870. Club members include alumni, corporations, foundations, organizations and friends of the university.

The event also honors members of Colorado State’s lifetime giving societies and the Frontier Society. The university’s three lifetime giving societies recognize cumulative gifts of donors. They include the President’s Society, recognizing cumulative commitments between $25,000 $99,999; the Morgan Society for contributions between $100,000 $999,999; and the Lory Society for gifts of $1 million or more. Frontier Society members have made planned gifts to Colorado State.

"This evening is our opportunity to give special recognition to our major supporters," said Jean Rahn, executive director of development. "The 1870 Club is made up of a very special group of donors who share a strong commitment to the university and its programs."

The 1870 Club Initiative has become an integral component of the annual giving program at the university, with 1,014 club memberships.

The 1870 Recognition Dinner will begin at 6 p.m. in the Main Ballroom of the Lory Student Center on campus. The evening will include a reception and dinner with entertainment provided by student musicians, a recognition program with remarks by President Albert C. Yates and performances from the Department of Music, Theatre and Dance.