Colorado State University Student Receives Prestigious Goldwater Scholarship

A Colorado State University biochemistry student is one of 300 college students nationwide selected to receive the prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship for the 2003-04 academic year.  

Junior Julia Shimizu recently was awarded the scholarship based on her academic excellence. Shimizu, from Waianae, Hawaii, is majoring in biological sciences with a concentration in anatomy and physiology.  

"I am very excited and shocked to receive this scholarship," said Shimizu. "I didn’t believe it at first because it was a nationwide scholarship and so many people were applying for it."

Funded by the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation, the scholarships can be applied to tuition, fees, books and room and board. The scholarships, each worth $7,500 per year, are awarded to undergraduate sophomores and juniors from the United States.

Nominated by the Honors Office at Colorado State, Shimizu plans to continue her education in research for veterinary medicine in a dual Doctor of Veterinary Medicine and doctorate program.  However, after graduating, she wants to postpone her career and join the Peace Corps.

"I want to ultimately do research in veterinary medicine, concentrating in pathology or anatomy and physiology," said Shimizu. "But before I do that, I want to join the Peace Corps as a volunteer to help educate people in other countries that are in need."

Shimizu is part of the Hughes Undergraduate Research Scholars at Colorado State, which supports the independent research activities of undergraduate students under the direct supervision of a faculty mentor. She recently participated in the Undergraduate Research Symposium at Colorado State where her research project included the effect of Biosurfactant Producing Microorganisms on Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbon Degradation in Soil.

Shimizu is an honor student, student ambassador and is involved in the Hui O Hawaii Club and Rice Productions. She currently is studying abroad in Australia.  

Goldwater scholarship recipients are selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,093 mathematics, science, engineering and computer science students nominated by faculties of colleges and universities. Virtually all the 2003-2004 recipients intend to pursue doctoral degrees.

The Goldwater Foundation is a federally endowed agency established in 1986. The scholarship program honors former Senator Barry M. Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate. The purpose of the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship is to alleviate a critical current and future shortage of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians and engineers. It is considered the premier undergraduate award of its type.

The Foundation, in its 15-year history, has awarded 3,962 scholarships worth approximately $39 million. The Trustees again plan to award about 300 scholarships for the 2004-05 academic year.

The Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Sciences at Colorado State has had six previous Goldwater Scholarship winners, including three recipients in the 1997-98 school year: Laura Tomky, Amy Lynn Norton and Melissa Gonzales; Robin Jump in 1992-93; Cynthia Snyder in 1994-95; and Bethany Krett in 1995-96.