Colorado State University’s College of Natural Sciences Honors Five for Exceptional Teaching

Four faculty members and one graduate student at Colorado State University have been honored with College of Natural Sciences outstanding teaching awards for their work in teaching and mentoring students. Each award winner receives a plaque along with a $500 stipend.  

"These five exceptional individuals continually push the highest standards for scholarship, teaching and concern for students," said Dean Rick Miranda. "With so many outstanding educators in the college, it is difficult to honor only a few. However, we believe these five well represent the college’s primary focus on providing the best possible education to each one of our students."

The Undergraduate Teaching Award of Excellence was presented to Alan Kennan, assistant professor in the Department of Chemistry, and Patricia Bedinger, associate professor in the Department of Biology. The award is given for innovative teaching and superior performance demonstrated in the classroom.

The Graduate Education and Mentoring Award of Excellence was given to James Detling, professor in the Department of Biology. Detling received this honor for his outstanding work in teaching the methods and spirit of scholarly inquiry that form the foundation of graduate education as well as his work as an advisor and mentor.  

Myron Baker, professor in the Department of Biology, was awarded the Mentoring of Undergraduate Research Award of Excellence for his efforts to get undergraduates to participate in independent research and communicate their discoveries and to make research fit undergraduate education.

The Graduate Teaching Assistant Award of Excellence went to Sarah Wright, a graduate student in the Department of Psychology, for her high degree of professionalism shown in the classroom.  

The awards of excellence, established in 1995, recognize efforts to help students realize their full learning potential; to encourage students to set high standards for scholarship, integrity and independence; and to be receptive to students’ concerns. Award winners are recommended to the dean and by a panel that includes previous award winners drawn from both faculty members and graduate students and an undergraduate student council member.