New Executive Director of Alumni Relations Joins Colorado State University

Colorado State University today announced a noted national leader in alumni relations programs as the university’s new executive director of Alumni Relations.

Marc J. Shkolnick, who served for 10 years with the University of Nebraska Alumni Association and who was the association’s associate executive director since 1999, will begin his duties on Nov. 8.

"While there were many highly qualified candidates interested in the position, Marc stood out based on his vision, his broad range of experiences and his unquestioned commitment to building a top tradition-enriched alumni relations program here at Colorado State," said Don Fry, vice president for University Development and Advancement.

"Colorado State welcomes Marc as a new university leader," said Larry Edward Penley, president of Colorado State University. "We are excited about the role Alumni will play in advancing and supporting the university. Under Marc’s leadership, we are confident that we will continue to develop and strengthen lifelong relationships with alumni, students, friends and our community."

As associate executive director at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Shkolnick managed the association’s alumni programming team that created programs, events and activities designed to keep alumni informed about and engaged with the university. He also coordinated the membership/marketing program and served as liaison to the association’s lifelong learning program.

Prior to his current position, Shkolnick was director of Alumni Relations at the University of Nebraska. His responsibilities included directing the association’s chapters program and engaging in a broad range of alumni programming, event planning, volunteer coordination and relationship building. He also served as admissions representative from 1990-93 at the university.

Shkolnick, who has a master’s in higher education administration and a bachelor’s in education both from the University of Nebraska, is a member of the CASE District VI Board of Trustees and chairman of the CASE District VI Educational Outreach Planning Committee.