Colorado State’s Alcohol Task Force Welcomes Public to Dec. 9 Meeting; Draft Recommendations to be Discussed

Colorado State University invites the public to attend the Alcohol Task Force full committee meeting from 3-6 p.m. Dec. 9 in Room 228 of the Lory Student Center on the university’s main campus in Fort Collins.

Agenda items for the meeting include a presentation and discussion about alcohol education, prevention and treatment programs at Colorado State led by Anne Hudgens, executive director of Campus Life and director of Conflict Resolution and Student Conduct Services. Draft preliminary recommendations for the final report from each of the four subcommittees will then be discussed, followed by an opportunity for public comment.

The four subcommittees include the following.

– The subcommittee on Colorado State University alcohol-related policies, protocols and enforcement practices.

– The subcommittee on student behavior and educational and intervention programs.

– The subcommittee on alcohol-related legislation, distribution and advertising.

– The subcommittee on the use of alcohol at Hughes Stadium, which is reviewing polices, protocols and practices associated with alcohol use and abuse at Hughes Stadium.

Led by Colorado Lt. Gov. Jane Norton, the Alcohol Task Force was appointed by Penley to examine a wide range of issues including binge drinking and underage drinking among students, as well as the fraternity and sorority systems and the overall culture of the institution as it relates to alcohol and substance abuse issues.

All task force meetings, including subcommittee meetings, are open to the public.

For people who would like to provide feedback or learn more about the Alcohol Task Force but are unable to attend committee meetings, a Web site is accessible at that includes an online form where students, parents and community members can provide comments and suggestions to the committee and subcommittees. The site additionally includes the charge of the task force and each subcommittee and lists meeting times, agendas, minutes and additional information.

Written comments to the Alcohol Task Force can be mailed to Colorado State University, Attention: Alcohol Task Force, 201 Administration, Fort Collins, CO 80523, or e-mailed to