Governor Owens Appoints Two New Members to the Colorado State University Board of Governors

Governor Bill Owens today appointed Douglas L. Jones of Denver and Ed J. Haselden of Castle Rock to the Colorado State University Board of Governors. Both appointees still must be confirmed by the state Senate.

"We are very pleased with these appointments," said Colorado State University President Larry Edward Penley. "Douglas Jones and Ed Haselden will bring outstanding business experience and acumen to their work with the Board, which is invaluable as we work to ensure the immediate and long-term success of Colorado State University and Colorado higher education as a whole. They not only have a love for Colorado State and an appreciation for its mission, they also share an acute understanding of the complex issues facing higher education in Colorado today."

Jones serves on a number of boards, including the Western Stock Show Association, Colorado Tourism Office, Rose Community Foundation, Denver Council of Boy Scouts of America and the National Association of Industrial and Office Properties. He is immediate past chair of the Denver Botanic Gardens Board of Trustees and a past chair of both the Denver Metro Chamber of Commerce and Downtown Business Improvement. Jones is president and owner of The JONES Realty Group.

Haselden serves on several community boards, including Mile High United Way, Boy Scouts of America Mile High Council, Associated General Contractors of America, Denver Metro Chamber of Commerce, Rocky Mountain Chapter of Young Presidents’ Organization and Douglas County Catholic Schools Corporation. He additionally serves on the U.S. Bank Board of Advisors and the executive committee of the Denver Metro Economic Development Corporation. Haselden is President and CEO of Haselden Construction, LLC.

"As longtime leaders in our state, they both recognize the important role that a modern research university like Colorado State plays in supporting and driving economic development," Penley said. "They understand our responsibility to address the needs of Colorado citizens in terms of improved quality of life and long-term economy vitality."

The Board of Governors of the Colorado State University System governs Colorado State University and Colorado State University-Pueblo. The Board consists of nine voting members appointed by the Governor of Colorado and confirmed by the Colorado State Senate and four elected non-voting members. Jones and Haselden each will serve four-year terms. There are 15 members, nine appointed by the Governor.