Colorado State University Students Receive Scholarships for Pursuit in Science

The Achievement Rewards for College Scientists Foundation held its annual scholarship awards luncheon at Colorado State University on Thursday, Nov. 10.

The ARCS Foundation is an all-volunteer women’s organization that distributes scholarships each year to Colorado students aspiring in fields including natural science, medicine and engineering. Nine Colorado State students were among the scholarship recipients this year.

Colorado State scholars are Courtney Boese, mathematics major from Colorado Springs; Peter Ciesielski, chemical engineering major from Fort Collins; Debra Davidson, veterinary medicine major from Fort Collins; Brandon Lehman, environmental engineering major from Fort Collins; Wesley Mariott, chemistry major from Houston, Texas; Timothy Miller, chemical engineering major from Westminster; Nathan Reynolds, organic chemistry major from Watkins Glen, New York; Chelsea Roan, biochemistry major from Fort Collins; and Kelly Zuehlsdorff, mechanical engineering major from Longmont.

Scholarships range from $5,000 to $6,000. To be a recipient, students must have high scholastic records with proven abilities in a scientific field, be a United States citizen and demonstrate financial need.

Students may not apply to the ARCS Foundation, but they are chosen and recommended by the deans and department heads at the schools.

Colorado State was also evaluated to be a recipient of the awards. The ARCS Foundation evaluated the strength of the degree programs, size and quality of the faculty, number of published scientific articles, tests scores and research grants from nationally recognized institutes.

The ARCS Foundation also recognized Kathryn C. Hach-Darrow as the honoree of the year. Hach-Darrow is an entrepreneur who started Hach Chemical Company in 1948 with her husband, and raised sales to $150 million with more than 1,000 employees by 1999. Hach-Darrow serves on the Executive Committee of Northwood University and is the chairman of the trustees for the Hach Scientific Foundation.

Hach-Darrow and the foundation strive to foster and support science and organizations that encourage the youth of America to pursue exploration of the sciences. For the academic year 2005-2006, Hach Scientific Foundation is funding 135 scholarships for chemistry majors.

In 2004, Hach-Darrow received an honorary doctorate in humane letters from Colorado State University.

Colorado State alumnus Jim Benemann, KCNC Channel 4 News anchor, was master of ceremonies at the event.