Colorado State Names Two University Distinguished Teaching Scholars at Annual Luncheon

Two professors known for innovative teaching and research at Colorado State University have been selected as University Distinguished Teaching Scholars, an honor conferred upon a total of 12 outstanding faculty.

The new distinguished scholars, Douglas Hoffman in the Department of Marketing and Nancy E. Levinger in the Department of Chemistry, were recognized today at the annual Celebrate Colorado State! Luncheon.

"The exceptional contributions of Professors Hoffman and Levinger reflect the ideals of scholarship, teaching and research typified by faculty members at Colorado State University," said President Larry Edward Penley. "Their commitment to creating innovative, engaging learning experiences exemplifies the importance we place on learning at Colorado State."

"Our faculty continue to lead the way," said Tony Frank, provost and senior vice president. "Their valuable work consistently seeks new possibilities and innovations in teaching to meet the university’s fundamental goal of providing the best possible education to students."

The designation as a University Distinguished Teaching Scholar remains with the recipient until he or she leaves the university. The scholars were chosen in an open process that began with the selection of nominees by departments throughout campus.

All Scholars receive a permanent base salary increment of $7,500 and an annual $2,500 operating account from their home colleges for three years to pursue an instructional improvement/innovation project.

Current University Distinguished Teaching Scholars are Pattie Cowell, Kate Kiefer and Mike Palmquist, Department of English; Ken Barbarick, Department of Soil and Crop Sciences; James Boyd, Department of Philosophy; Ingrid Burke, Department of Forest, Rangeland and Watershed Stewardship; Rich Feller, School of Education; Stephen Thompson, Department of Chemistry; Wayne Viney, Department of Psychology; and Ray Whalen, Department of Biomedical Sciences. Retiring are Ed Redente, Department of Forest, Rangeland and Watershed Stewardship; and Frank Vattano, Department of Psychology.

More about the honorees:

Douglas Hoffman

Douglas Hoffman, a marketing professor in the College of Business, is known as a leader in advancing teaching practices at Colorado State. He is an innovative teacher, course developer and significant contributor to the scholarship of teaching in the marketing discipline.

Hoffman, who specializes in the study of services marketing, contributed to the development of teaching at Colorado State through the College of Business Master Teaching Initiative, or MTI; curricular development activities; and various service functions. Mike Palmquist, director of the Institute for Learning and Teaching and also a University Distinguished Teaching Scholar, said: "My work with Dr. Hoffman has left me even more impressed than I had been when I first approached him about transforming the MTI into a universitywide program. It has been a genuine pleasure to share ideas with him and to support him in his efforts to further the work he’s already done with the MTI in the College of Business."

Since joining the University in 1997, Hoffman has won at least one major teaching or advising award per year, including the Board of Governors Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award in 2006. He also has been honored by major marketing academic professional organizations.

Nancy E. Levinger

Nancy E. Levinger, professor of chemistry in the College of Natural Sciences, is an energetic and engaging scholar and teacher who is dedicated to promoting young people in science through teaching, mentoring, national service, and leadership in the university’s student programs.

She has been active in the incorporation of innovative teaching ideas into Colorado State’s chemistry courses. She is a strong advocate of undergraduate research, including advising undergraduate researchers in her own lab. Colleagues describe Levinger as a teacher who is dynamic, creative, flexible, and focused on student learning and the student learning community.

From 1999 to 2005, she directed a National Science Foundation Research Experiences for Undergraduates program, or NSF REU, in the Department of Chemistry, renewing the grant twice during those years. During her tenure as director, the university showed exceptional representation by women students and began to recruit underrepresented minorities as well. She continues to co-direct this program with a colleague, Professor Ellen Fisher.

Levinger also served as the major organizer for the Celebrate Undergraduate Research and Creativity research event for the past four years. This event showcases the efforts of undergraduate researchers at Colorado State University.