College of Natural Sciences Names 2007 Professor Laureates

Colorado State University’s College of Natural Sciences has named their 2007 Professor Laureates.

The college is happy to announce the names of this year’s professor laureates:

— C. Michael Elliott, professor of chemistry.

— Jennifer K. Nyborg, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology.

— Anireddy S. N. Reddy, professor of biology.

In 2006, the College of Natural Sciences instituted a new program that designates the most productive and well-rounded professors as professor laureates.

The honor is the highest academic title the college extends. It not only serves to thank the professors for their past efforts, but also to encourage them for the future by providing them with an honorarium and two years of resources for student projects directed by them. Awardees display to the rest of the college and university the role model of an excellent senior faculty member and establish a group that the dean’s office may go to for advice and counsel on ad-hoc issues.

Elliott, Nyborg and Reddy join a distinguished group of previously named laureates from 2006 including Norm Curthoys, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Jerry Deffenbacher, Department of Psychology; and Richard Davis, Department of Statistics.

The title of professor laureate remains for three years, is not renewable, and the award is relinquished upon passing to retirement or transitional retirement.

During the academic year, each laureate will deliver a college-wide address on an academic subject of his or her choice. The first will take place on Thursday, December 6, in room 223 Weber Building.  An award presentation and reception will follow immediately in the atrium of the Statistics Building.