Colorado State University Announces December Commencement Ceremonies on Dec. 19 and 20

Colorado State University will confer degrees on fall 2008 graduates at commencement ceremonies Dec. 19 and 20.

College ceremonies and an ROTC commissioning will recognize 1,483 undergraduates and 340 graduate students, of which 70 are doctoral students. Fourteen students will graduate summa cum laude, 36 will graduate magna cum laude and 70 will graduate cum laude.

Commencement ceremonies, with the exception of the ROTC commissionings, will be webcast live this year. Links to the ceremonies are at

Among this year’s commencement speakers are Colorado Gov. Bill Ritter; Colorado Commissioner of Agriculture John R. Stulp; Mike Applegate, president and CEO of Applegate Group Inc.; CSU emeritus Computer Science Department Chairman Rodney Oldehoeft; and CSU instructor Kathy Hutcheson.

Gov. Ritter will return to Colorado State University, his alma mater, at 7 p.m. Dec. 19 at the Lory Student Center Main Ballroom to deliver remarks at the university’s Warner College of Natural Resources commencement. Gov. Ritter’s son, August Ritter, is graduating from CSU’s Warner College with a degree in Natural Resource Recreation and Tourism, a concentration in Global Tourism and a double minor in Business Administration and Spanish. The governor earned his undergraduate degree in political science from Colorado State in 1978 from the College of Liberal Arts.

Stulp will speak at the College of Agricultural Sciences commencement ceremony at 7:30 p.m. Dec. 20 at Moby Arena. Stulp is an active member of the National Association of State Departments of Agriculture which works to develop and implement sound public policy and programs to support and promote the American agricultural industry while protecting consumers and the environment. During his time at Colorado Department of Agriculture, Commissioner Stulp has committed himself to furthering Colorado’s agricultural community by participating in events across the state and around the globe.

Applegate will serve as commencement speaker at the College of Engineering at 4 p.m. Dec. 20 in the Lory Student Center Main Ballroom. Applegate is a 1974 graduate of Colorado State with a bachelor’s degree in Civil Engineering. He is a licensed professional engineer in Colorado and Wyoming and is a past president of the Professional Engineers of Colorado. Applegate was awarded Engineer of the Year for the state of Colorado in 1993 by PEC.

Oldehoeft will speak at the College of Natural Sciences’ commencement at 12:30 p.m. Dec. 20 at Moby Arena. Oldehoeft joined the Computer Science Department at Colorado State in 1978 after earning a doctorate in computer science at Purdue and co-founding a computer science program at Arizona State University. His research at Colorado State focused on software for parallel and high-performance computer systems. He is an emeritus chairman and professor of computer science at Colorado State.

Hutcheson, faculty member in Health and Exercise Science, will speak at the College of Applied Human Sciences’ commencement ceremony at 7:30 p.m. Dec. 19 at Moby Arena. Hutcheson has been teaching and advising in the Department of Health and Exercise Science since 1995. She is coordinator of the Sports Medicine Program in the department, which has more than 500 students. Hutcheson is recipient of the 2008 College of Applied Human Sciences Outstanding Advisor Award and the University’s Jack E. Cermak Advising Award for excellence in academic advising.

Following is a list of CSU commencement ceremony starting times and locations for each ceremony.

Dec. 19

– Army ROTC Commissioning, 1 p.m., 113 Natural Resources Building

– Air Force ROTC Commissioning, 1:30 p.m., Lory Student Center North Ballroom

– Graduate School, 3 p.m., Moby Arena

– Warner College of Natural Resources, 7 p.m., Lory Student Center Main Ballroom

– College of Applied Human Sciences, 7:30 p.m., Moby Arena

Dec. 20

– College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, 9 a.m., Lory Student Center Main Ballroom

– College of Business, 9 a.m., Moby Arena

– College of Natural Sciences, 12:30 p.m., Moby Arena

– College of Engineering, 4 p.m., Lory Student Center Main Ballroom

– College of Liberal Arts, 4 p.m., Moby Arena

– College of Agricultural Sciences, 7:30 p.m., Moby Arena