Colorado State University Names Chemistry Department Chair

The College of Natural Sciences at Colorado State University has named a new chair in the Department of Chemistry. Professor Ellen Fisher has accepted the position, effective July 1, 2009.         

"I was most pleased to see how much support Dr. Fisher had in the department," said Interim Provost Rick Miranda. "The Chemistry Department is fortunate to have an outstanding a faculty member so interested in its leadership and direction; this bodes very well for the future."

Fisher’s research lies in the areas of analytical, materials and physical chemistry, with a focus on understanding the chemical processes that take place during plasma processing and chemical vapor deposition. She is also working to improve solar cell efficiency, to develop composite nanomaterials and to explore environmental applications for plasma chemistry.

Fisher has been involved in many activities in the Department of Chemistry including the National Science Foundation Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) program. During her tenure as co-director, the department showed exceptional representation by women students and significantly improved its recruitment of underrepresented minorities.  She is also the cofounder and director of the Women in Natural Sciences (WINS) group.

Fisher has been a professor of chemistry at Colorado State since 1993. She received her Ph.D from the University of Utah in 1991 and her bachelor’s degree from Texas Lutheran University in 1986. She also performed post-doctoral work from 1991-93 at the Sandia National Laboratories.

She succeeds Tony Rappe’, who has served as Chemistry Department Chair for the past five years.