Colorado State University Begins Search for New Police Chief; Names Search Committee

Colorado State University officials today announced that a search committee has been named to begin a national search for a new police chief for the CSU Police Department.

Vice President for Student Affairs Blanche Hughes has been appointed by Interim President Tony Frank to chair the 12-person search committee, and will serve as the spokesperson for the group.

Other members are:

– David BradFord, director of CSU Parking;

– Bob Chaffee, retired CSUPD police officer;

– Craig Chesson, director of Conflict Resolution;

– Ann Gill, dean of the College of Liberal Arts;

– Chris Haase, assistant director, Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity;

– Brad Hurst, criminal justice instructor in the College of Liberal Arts;

– Emily Krogman, Associated Students of Colorado State University representative;

– Linda Schutjer, attorney, Office of General Counsel;

– Captain Don Vagge, Fort Collins Police Department;

– Joan Williams, CSUPD records manager.

The committee hopes to have a new police chief hired and on campus by the beginning of the fall 2009 semester in late August. Interim Chief of Police Frank Johnson will continue to oversee the CSU Police Department in the meantime.

The committee plans to hold open public forums for finalists as part of the process. Hughes also requests that campus and community members forward recommendations to the search committee.

The chief of police job description and contact information for the search committee are available on the university’s Administrative Services website at