Colorado State University to Hold Spring Commencement Ceremonies May 15 and 16

Colorado State University will confer degrees on spring 2009 graduates at commencement ceremonies May 15 and 16.     

College ceremonies and two ROTC commissionings will recognize 2,581 undergraduates, 670 graduate students, of which 78 are doctoral students and 123 professional veterinary medicine students. Fifty-three students will graduate summa cum laude, 68 will graduate magna cum laude and 158 will graduate cum laude.     

Commencement ceremonies, with the exception of the ROTC commissionings, will be webcast live at

Colorado State will confer an honorary doctoral degree on Timothy E. Wirth, president of the United Nations Foundation and the Better World Fund, at spring 2009 commencement ceremonies Friday, May 15. Colorado State Interim President Anthony A. Frank will award the degree of Doctor of Humane Letters, Honoris Causa, to Wirth in recognition of his public service contributions made to the environment, women and population, children’s health, and peace and human rights around the world. He will receive his degree at Colorado State’s Graduate School commencement ceremony at 3 p.m. in Moby Arena.

Among the commencement speakers:

– Dr. Craig Webb, assistant professor in the Department of Clinical Sciences at Colorado State University, will speak at the Professional Veterinary Medicine commencement ceremony at 8 a.m. May 15 at Moby Arena. Dr. Webb is a small animal medicine clinician at the Veterinary Teaching Hospital.  

– Don Law, president of Prima Exploration, Inc., will speak at the College of Engineering commencement ceremony at 11:30 a.m. May 15 at Moby Arena. He graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from Colorado State in 1975. In 1980, Law formed his own company, Prima Exploration, Inc.  Today, Prima Exploration is active in oil and gas operations throughout the Rocky Mountain region.

– Ed Haselden, secretary of the Board of Governors of the Colorado State University System, will speak at the College of Applied Human Sciences commencement ceremony at 7:30 p.m. May 15 at Moby Arena. Haselden is president and chief executive officer of Denver-based Haselden Construction. He is responsible for the strategic direction, growth and leadership development of the company’s third generation of leaders. He is a member of the Denver Metro Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors and the U.S. Bank Board of Advisors.  

– George N. Wallace, professor in the Department of Human Dimensions of Natural Resources and founder of the Center for Protected Area Management and Training, will speak at the Warner College of Natural Resources commencement ceremony at 9 a.m. May 16 at the Lory Student Center Main Ballroom. His teaching, research and outreach have focused on capacity building for the management of protected natural areas – from wilder?ness areas to private land conservation programs. For more than two decades, CPMAT has conducted a great diversity of training, research and technical assistance projects in the United States and Latin America.

– Cecil Stushnoff, professor in CSU’s Department of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture and this year’s recipient of the College of Agricultural Sciences Honor Faculty Award, will speak at the College of Agricultural Sciences commencement ceremony at noon May 16 at Moby Arena. Stushnoff has been on the faculty at the University of Minnesota, University of Saskatchewan and Colorado State University. During his career, he has excelled in teaching, research and service, contrib?uting great skill and commitment to the betterment of agricultural science and leaving an outstanding legacy of excellence.

– Karolin Luger, professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, will speak at the College of Natural Sciences commencement ceremony at 3:30 p.m. May 16 at Moby Arena. Luger joined the faculty at Colorado State in 1999 and has achieved numerous distinctions, including being selected one of 45 Searle Scholars in the United States, winning the Monfort Professor Award and being named a CSU University Distinguished Professor. She is also one of 300 national Hughes Medical Institute Investigators, an appointment that comes with very substantial support for research activities.

– CSU Interim President Tony Frank will speak at the College of Liberal Arts commencement ceremony at 7:30 p.m. May 16 at Moby Arena. Frank served on the faculty at Oregon State University before joining Colorado State in 1993, where he served as chairman of the Department of Pathology and associate dean for Research in the College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences. He was appointed vice president for Research and Information Technology at Colorado State in 2000. He was appointed to the position of senior vice president in July 2004 and was responsible in this role for coordination of the academic core of the university. In 2005, he also assumed the title of provost, leading the Division of Academic Affairs and serving as CSU’s chief academic officer. Frank was named Senior Executive Vice President in 2008, and the Board of Governors of the Colorado State University System tapped him to serve as Interim President later the same year.

The following is a list of CSU commencement ceremony starting times and locations for each ceremony.

May 15

– Professional Veterinary Medicine, 8 a.m., Moby Arena

– Air Force ROTC Commissioning, 8:30 a.m., Lory Student Center Main Ballroom

– Army ROTC Commissioning, 9 a.m., Lory Student Center Theatre

– College of Engineering, 11:30 a.m., Moby Arena

– Graduate School, 3 p.m., Moby Arena

– College of Applied Human Sciences, 7:30 p.m., Moby Arena

– College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, 7:30 p.m., Lory Student Center Main Ballroom

May 16

– College of Business, 8 a.m., Moby Arena

– Warner College of Natural Resources, 9 a.m., Lory Student Center Main Ballroom

– College of Agricultural Sciences, noon, Moby Arena

– College of Natural Sciences, 3:30 p.m., Moby Arena

– College of Liberal Arts, 7:30 p.m., Moby Arena