Colorado State University Department Head Receives Malone Award for International Education Efforts

Mary Ann Littrell, chair of  the Design and Merchandising department at Colorado State University, is among three 2009 winners of the Michael P. Malone International Leadership Award, sponsored by the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities.  

The Malone Award, established in 2000, honors those who further international education in public higher education. The award, dedicated to the memory of Michael P. Malone, was established to provide national recognition for a career of outstanding contributions to furthering international education at public and land-grant institutions.  

Littrell will receive the award officially this summer, along with Richard Herman, chancellor of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and Ronald M. Berkman, former provost of Florida International University.  

Littrell’s groundbreaking study of fair trade and social responsibility in the apparel industry has illuminated her exemplary leadership as professor and chair of the Department of Design and Merchandising at Colorado State University.  

Her research yielded new methods to address the fair trade marketing system that bridges artisans’ need for income, retailers’ goals for transforming trade and consumers’ concerns for social responsibility. Littrell also explored how countries like Guatemala and India can promote and market textiles for the U.S. market that appeals to American taste while offering a fair return in the form of a living wage. Throughout her academic career, Littrell’s focus has been on increasing the body of knowledge of cultural dress and enhancing artisan enterprises for fair trade of cultural products through the land-grant mission of teaching, research and service.

"This year’s award recipients have worked tirelessly to promote international education and development," said APLU President Peter McPherson. "Their focus on international issues speaks well of America’s highly regarded university system and the willingness of our scholars to promote higher education across the globe."

Malone served as president of Montana State University from 1991 until his death in 1999, and made many contributions to MSU and U.S. higher education. As the former chair of NASULGC, now APLU’s Commission on International Programs, he focused its attention on issues critical to international programs and increased in the higher education community.

Founded in 1887, the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities is an association of public research universities, land-grant institutions and many state public university systems. Its 218 members enroll more than 4.7 million students and award nearly one-million degrees annually. With nearly $30 billion in research, APLU member universities comprise 10 of the top 20 universities in total federal spending on research and development in science and engineering. As the nation’s oldest higher education association, APLU is dedicated to excellence in learning, discovery and engagement.