Colorado State University’s Creative Writing Program Highlighted in Nation’s Largest Creative Writing Conference

The largest creative writing conference in the country will bring more than 7,000 writers – including many Colorado State University faculty, students and alumni – to Denver’s Colorado Convention Center for the Association of Writers and Writing Programs Conference, April 7-10.

The Association of Writers and Writing Programs, or AWP, is the umbrella organization for creative writing and strong proponent for literary arts in America. Since 1967, AWP has supported writers and writing programs around the world. To date, AWP has more than 34,000 members at more than 500 member colleges and universities.

CSU is a sponsor of the conference and many university faculty, staff and alumni will be featured in events throughout the conference. The AWP conference coincides with the 25th anniversary of the Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing program at CSU. In honor of the anniversary, several events are dedicated to highlight the talented faculty and alums of the program.

The majority of events during the conference will be held in Denver at the Hyatt Regency Denver, 650 15th St. and the Colorado Convention Center, 700 14th St. The conference itself requires a registration fee, but the off-site events are free and open to the public.

Colorado State faculty, student and alumni events

Wednesday, April 7

Stars Are Symbols: Writers and Scientists Collaborate
Who: Matthew Cooperman, Aby Kaupang, Susie Tepper, Rico Moore, Drew Nolte, David Bowen, Charlie Malone and others; Host: Aaron Plasek
When: 7:30–9:30 p.m.
Where: The Other Side Art Gallery, 1644 Platte St.

Denver Quarterly at Dikeou
Who: Dan Beachy-Quick and others
When: 6–7:30 p.m.
Where: Dikeou Collective

Thursday, April 8

CSU Book Signing
Who: Leslee Becker, Judy Doenges, Matthew Cooperman
When: Noon – 1:15 p.m.
Where: CSU table at conference book fair, Colorado Convention Center

That’s Private! Using Personal Details About Others’ Lives in Fiction
Steven Schwartz, Antonya Nelson, Ann Cummins, Sylvia Brownrigg; Chair: Steven Schwartz
When: 3–4:15 p.m.
Where: Room 205, Colorado Convention Center

Keynote Fiction Reading
Who: Leslie Marmon Silko; Introduction: Matthew Cooperman
When: 4:30–5:45 p.m.
Where: Capitol Ballroom, Hyatt Regency

Colorado Writers Read
Who: Sasha Steensen, Gordon Hadfield, Julie Carr & others; Host: Julie Carr
When: 5:30–7:30 p.m.
Where: University of Colorado-Denver Campus

Low Down Writers’ Bash
Who: Hosts are Colorado Review, The Normal School, The Pinch and the Colorado Art Ranch
When: 8 p.m.-1 a.m.
Where: Wynkoop Brewery

Friday, April 9

Finding Lost Memories
Vicki Lindner, Emily Fox Gordon, Jana Harris, Ann McCutchan, Steven Schwartz; Chair: Vicki Lindner
When: 9–10:15 a.m.
Where: Rooms 210-212, Colorado Convention Center

A Tribute: Ed Dorn and the Public American West
Who: Peter Michelson, Joseph Richey, Dale Smith, Jenny Dorn, Matthew Cooperman; Chair: Matthew Cooperman
When: 10:30–11:45 a.m.
Where: Centennial Ballroom, Hyatt Regency

Fence Book Signing
Who: Sasha Steensen and others
When: 1:30 p.m.
Where: Fence table at conference book fair, Colorado Convention Center

Denver Quarterly Reading
Who: Dan Beachy-Quick and others
When: 3 p.m.
Where: TBD

It’s Not Just About You: Solidifying Journalism’s Role in Creative Writing Programs
Who: Patrick Walters, Jim Sheeler, Philip Gerard, John Calderazzo, Rebecca Skloot; Chair: Rebecca Skloot
When: 3–4:15 p.m.
Where: Rooms 401-402, Colorado Convention Center

Navigating Chaotic Changes in Literary Magazine Publishing
Melanie Moore, Maribeth Batcha, Carolyn Kuebler, William Pierce, Stephanie G’Schwind; Chair: Melanie Moore
When: 4:30–5:45 p.m.
Where: Rooms 401-402, Colorado Convention Center

25 Years: CSU’s MFA Alumni Reading and Party
Who: Host is Matthew Cooperman
When: 8 p.m. to midnight
Where: Wynkoop Brewery

Literary Legacy of the Front Range
Julie Carr, Noah Eli Gordon, Eleni Sikelianos, Bhanu Kapil, Dan Beachy- Quick, Matthew Cooperman; Chair: Julie Carr
When: 4:30–5:45 p.m.
Where: Rooms 301-302, Colorado Convention Center

Saturday, April 10

Colorado Prize for Poetry Reading
Who: Rob Schlegel, Endi Hartigan, Jaswinder Bolina, Craig Teicher, Rusty Morrison; Chair: Stephanie G’Schwind
When: 9–10:15 a.m.
Where: Rooms 102-104, Colorado Convention Center

CSU 25th Anniversary Reading
Who: Mary Crow, Bill Tremblay, George Kalamaras, Wendy Rawlings, Steve Church, John Calderazzo; Chair: Leslee Becker
When: Noon–1:15 p.m.
Where: Room 303, Colorado Convention Center

Students Who Build Things: The Literary Magazine as Teaching Tool for Undergraduate Students
Who: Haley Larson, KC Culver, Collette Morris, Karen Craigo, Zach Tarvin, Patricia Murphy
When: 1:30–2:45 p.m.
Where: Agate Room, Hyatt Regency

Colorado Writers Read
Who: Matthew Cooperman, Aby Kaupang and others; Host: Julie Carr
When: 5:30–7:30 p.m.
Where: Denver Press Club

Starting Today Reading
Who: Sasha Steensen and others
When: 6:30 p.m.
Where: Paris on the Platte

Ahadada Books and Unlikely Stories
Who: Jared Schickling and others
When: 7–11 p.m.
Where: Michelangelo’s Wine Bar, 1 B-Way, Suite B

For more information about the AWP Conference, visit For more information about CSU events at the conference, contact Lisa Feld at