Bonfils-Stanton President Named to CSU Board of Governors

The Colorado State University System Board of Governors on Tuesday named Dorothy Horrell, President and CEO of the Bonfils-Stanton Foundation, to its board.

While Board of Governors members are typically appointed by the Colorado Governor, the board has statutory authority to fill vacancies that occur mid-term. The nine-member board elected Horrell to fill the position held by Marguerite Salazar of Alamosa, who resigned to accept an appointment by President Barack Obama as Health and Human Services Regional Director in Denver.

The Board of Governors oversees Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colorado State University-Pueblo and Colorado State University-Global Campus. Board members are appointed for four-year terms, and Horrell will finish out the term of Salazar, who was appointed by Governor Ritter to serve through 2012.

“Marguerite has been an outstanding Board member and we wish her well in her new assignment,” said Board Chair Patrick McConathy. “I know the board members enjoyed her collegiality and insights, and I personally will miss her counsel and friendship.”

“The Board is delighted to have Dorothy join our board," added McConathy. “Her demonstrated leadership, knowledge of higher education, and community involvement are exceptional, and she will contribute in important ways to an already strong board.”

Horrell has a distinguished career in higher education spanning nearly three decades, including service as president of the Community Colleges of Colorado and president of Red Rocks Community College in Lakewood. She has led the Bonfils Stanton Foundation as president since 2002.

Horrell is from Holyoke, Colo., and attended Colorado State University, where she received her bachelor’s through Ph.D. She is married to Theodore W. Horrell and they have a daughter, Meghan.

Horrell serves on many community and business boards including the Governor’s P-20 Education Council, Denver Commission to End Homelessness, Visiting Committee for the Lamont School of Music, University of Denver Colorado Association of Funders Board of Directors and the Clyfford Still Museum Board of Directors.

During her career, she has also been recognized with numerous honors and awards: Public Education and Business Coalition, Investing in Education Award; Progressive 15 Alumna of the Plains; Colorado State University Distinguished Alumna; Mile High Council of Girl Scouts “Woman of Distinction;” Colorado 4-H Association Honored Alumna; Presidents’ Academy, American Association of Community Colleges; National Association of State Directors of Vocational Education Distinguished Service Award; National Future Homemakers of America Alumni Achievement Award, and International Farm Youth Exchange Delegate to Taiwan.