Colorado 4-H Inducts Inaugural Hall of Fame Class

Colorado 4-H will introduce its inaugural Hall of Fame members this Friday, Oct. 8, during an event in Denver. The Colorado 4-H Hall of Fame recognizes notable people in the state who were 4-H members and who attribute success in life to their 4-H experiences. The inaugural class of 11 people includes two former U.S. senators, the president of a major university and a renowned animal behavior expert.

The 2010 Colorado 4-H Hall of Fame inductees include:
• Wayne Allard – U.S. senator, retired
• Tony Frank – president, Colorado State University
• Temple Grandin – animal handling and autism expert, Colorado State University
• Jessica Hartman – 2010 Miss Colorado USA, third runner-up in the 2010 Miss USA Pageant
• Paul Hoshiko – agricultural producer and community leader; instrumental in founding the Colorado 4-H Foundation
• Art Hoag – notable accomplishments in rocketry
• Bazi Kanani – news anchor, Channel 9 News
• John Matsushima – professor emeritus, Colorado State University; instrumental in advancements in the beef cattle-feeding industry
• Ben Nighthorse-Campbell – U.S. senator, retired
• John Stulp – commissioner of agriculture, Colorado Department of Agriculture
• Mark Trostel – chief, Colorado State Patrol, retired

For complete biographical sketches of the inductees, go to

The Hall of Fame class will be recognized during the Colorado 4-H Centennial Celebration Friday, Oct. 8, from 2:30-6 p.m. at the Denver Athletic Club, 1325 Glenarm Place. For more information on the Centennial Celebration, visit

The goal of the Colorado 4-H Hall of Fame is to highlight 4-H alumni from Colorado and other states who have made significant impacts in Colorado. Nominations are submitted by March 1 of each year to the state 4-H office from the county Extension office where the nominee was a 4-H member or the county in which they currently reside. All nominations are reviewed and recommendations are made to the State 4-H Program leader, who makes the final determination.