Global Sustainability Leadership Fellows Named at Colorado State University for 2012-2013

The School of Global Environmental Sustainability, the Graduate Degree Program in Ecology, and the Center for Multiscale Modeling of Atmospheric Processes have named 20 doctoral students and post-doctoral associates as 2012-2013 Global Sustainability Leadership Fellows.

This program was developed to cultivate future innovators and thought leaders in the scientific community who could provide relevant, credible and easy to understand scientific information to policymakers, journalists and the public. Scientists, academic researchers, and other environmental professionals are a primary source of information who can guide complex decisions that determine the environmental future.

As part of the program, Fellows will participate in a two-day science communication workshop May 8-9 that will be facilitated by professionals from COMPASS and world-class environmental journalists and communications professionals. Fellows will participate in additional professional development and networking sessions throughout the 2012-2013 academic year.

Journalists for the communications training include: Mark Fischetti, editor at Scientific American; Jon Hamilton, science correspondent at NPR; Jeff Burnside, reporter at NBC WTVJ; and Susan Moran, freelance journalist and radio host of KGNU’s ‘How on Earth.’ The workshop will be led by Liz Neeley, assistant director of Communications at COMPASS.

Neeley will kick off the workshop with a public lecture at 5 p.m. May 7 in the Grey Rock Room at the Lory Student Center. She will present a practical guide for uses of social media in science communication and discuss how new platforms promise to break down old barriers to communication.

“This is our second year running this program, and it has been a great opportunity for PhD students and early career post-docs to develop their communication skills and other professional development tools,” said Diana Wall, director of the School of Global Environmental Sustainability. “Our fellows represent six different colleges on campus, and we hope that they will be able to take the knowledge they gain through this program, and share with other students and departments in their college.”

The 2012-2013 Global Sustainability Leadership Fellows represents an impressive range of disciplines, including ecology, political science, geosciences, anthropology, bioagricultural sciences, atmospheric sciences and biology. Fellows were selected through a competitive application process and chosen based on their diversity of research, career plans, and interest in science communication and leadership.

The 2012-2013 Global Sustainability Leadership Fellows:

• Fang Wang, Department of Atmospheric Science, Advisor: Chris Kummerow
• Sharon Baruch-Mordo, Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology, Advisor: Ken Wilson
• Ghassan J. Alaka Jr., Department of Atmospheric Science, Advisor: Eric Maloney
• Paul Tanger, Department of Bioagricultural Sciences and Pest Management, Advisor: Jan Leach
• Sarah Bisbing, Graduate Degree Program in Ecology, Advisor: David Cooper
• Andrew Tredennick, Graduate Degree Program in Ecology, Advisors: Kathleen Galvin and Niall Hanan
• Misha Iris Schurman, Department of Atmospheric Science, Advisor: Jeff Collett
• Seema Nayan Sheth, Department of Biology, Advisor: Amy Angert
• Khishigbayar Jamiyansharav, Department of Forest and Rangeland Stewardship, Advisor: Maria Fernandez-Gimenez
• Jamie Fuller, Department of Anthropology, Advisor: Stephen Leisz
• Lindsay Reynolds, Department of Biology, Advisor: LeRoy Poff
• Debra Kaye Holman, School of Education and Department of Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, Advisors: William M. Timpson and Jerry J. Vaske
• Holly Marlatt, Department of Journalism and Technical Communication, Advisor: Craig Trumbo
• Jessica Gilman Ernakovich, Graduate Degree Program in Ecology, Advisor: Matthew Wallenstein
• Sarah Maisonneuve, Graduate Degree Program in Ecology, Advisor: Mike Coughenour
• Theresa Jedd, Department of Political Science, Advisor: Michele Betsill
• Faith Sternlieb, Department of Geosciences, Advisor: Melinda Laituri
• Michelle Meyer Lueck, Department of Sociology, Advisor: Lori Peek
• Sarah Warner Fitzpatrick, Department of Biology, Advisor: Chris Funk
• Kelly Sierra Ramirez, School of Global Environmental Sustainability, Advisor: Diana Wall