Media Advisory: Journalist, Legislator to be Honored at Suicide Prevention and Awareness Summit at CSU May 18


The Suicide Prevention Coalition of Colorado will honor State Rep. Matt Jones and Will Hearst, a reporter with the Montrose Daily Press for their efforts to raise awareness about the issue of suicide as part of the fifth annual “Bridging the Divide: Suicide Prevention and Awareness Summit” at Colorado State University May 18.

The two honorees will receive their awards at 11:20 a.m. on May 18 at the summit, which is hosted by The Suicide Prevention Coalition of Colorado, Colorado Injury Control Research Center at CSU and the Colorado’s Office of Suicide Prevention will honor. Last year’s winner was Woody Paige, Denver Post columnist and Moe Keller, former state Legislator.


Jones will receive the Advocacy Award for sponsoring HB1140, signed into law by Gov. John Hickenlooper on May 11. House Bill 1140 encourages hospitals to provide information about suicide risk factors, signs and sources of help to family and friends to whom a suicidal person is being discharged. Any effort that gets information into the hands of those closest to suicidal people will help save lives.

Hearst will receive the Media Award for his work covering suicide prevention. Hearst’s articles and efforts continue to give voice to the issue of suicide and to people across the Western Slope are invaluable to building suicide prevention and awareness efforts, members of the organizing committee said.

The Suicide Prevention and Awareness Summit is meant to unite stakeholders to advance statewide and national efforts to impact the suicide rate in Colorado.

This year’s conference will highlight innovations in suicide prevention and intervention and will offer programs and initiatives designed to reach people in all aspects of life. The summit is meant to forge new partnerships and to bridge the divide between people in need and lifesaving programs, initiatives and services. Speakers include Alan Wolfelt, John Draper and Laurie Davidson. Online registration has ended. To register for the conference, contact the Office of Conference Services at (970) 491-7501 or e-mail Julie Gibbs at