Colorado State University Chemistry Department Hosts Second Albert I. and Joan Meyers Symposium

The Colorado State University Chemistry department will host the second Albert I. and Joan Meyers Symposium beginning at 8 a.m. on Oct. 27 in the Behavioral Sciences Building, Room 131.

The symposium will offer talks from four world-renowned scientists whose research focuses on frontiers in organic chemistry and the synthesis of molecules related to human health. In addition, four graduate students from the CSU Department of Chemistry will give talks on their ongoing research.

This event is free, but those planning to attend are asked to register online at

The symposium will feature four scientists who will describe advances their labs have made to modern organic synthesis:

• Michael Krische, UT Austin: “Hydrogenation for C-C Bond Formation”
• Tobias Ritter, Harvard: “Late Stage Fluorination for PET Imaging”
• Tarek Sammakia, CU-Boulder: “New Methods for the Synthesis of Natural Products Bearing Hindered Quaternary Carbons”
• Amos Smith, University of Pennsylvania: “Anion Relay Chemistry (ARC): Evolution and Application”

Colorado State University Professors John Wood and Brian McNaughton have organized this event in honor of former Professor Albert I. Meyers, who passed away in October 2007. Meyers was a key contributor to the Chemistry department at Colorado State. He received numerous awards and honors for his work in stereocontrolled organic synthesis and was a member of the National Academy of Sciences.

For more information, contact