Colorado State University Professor Receives National Award for Outstanding Engineering Educators

Note to Reporters: Photo of Thomas Bradley are available with the news release at

Thomas H. Bradley, assistant professor of Mechanical Engineering at Colorado State University, has won the Teetor Award from the Society of Automobile Engineers International in recognition of his teaching excellence.

Bradley is the director of CSU’s government- and industry-funded Vehicle Electrification Education and EcoCAR2 programs. EcoCAR2 is a 15-university competition where students create an environmentally sustainable car. Under Bradley’s leadership, CSU is creating the only hydrogen-fuel cell vehicle in the competition.

Since Bradley’s arrival at CSU in 2008, he has conducted research into the technical and economic interactions between the automotive, energy and policy sectors. He has developed a unique body of work that takes systems engineering approaches to the design and interface between hybrid/electric vehicles and their market, fueling infrastructure and customers.

“We are very pleased that Dr. Bradley’s peers have recognized him as an outstanding engineering educator,” said Sue James, chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at CSU. “He is well-deserving of this honor and a major contributor to improving industry relevance of CSU’s education and research efforts.”

The SAE award was created to honor the late Ralph R. Teetor, the 1936 SAE International president who believed in the importance of educators’ impact on future engineers.

“My goal as an engineering educator is to help students realize their goals for innovation, for an improved transportation energy sector, for a career in invention and technology development,” said Bradley. “EcoCAR2 or any of the programs that we engage in here at CSU are designed to provide students with a place to learn, develop and exercise their skills as engineers and innovators."

The award is funded through the SAE Foundation and administered by the Teetor Educational Award Committee. SAE International includes more than 121,000 engineers and technical experts globally, encompassing individuals from the automotive, aerospace and commercial-vehicle industries.