CSU Professor Ellen Wohl Awarded American Geophysical Union 2013 Fellowship

Colorado State University Geology Professor Ellen E. Wohl has been selected as a 2013 Fellow of the American Geophysical Union for her continued leadership in the geologic world. Only 0.1 percent of AGU members across the country are selected to join the prestigious ranks of Fellows each year, and this year features the highest number of female AGU Fellows ever selected.

With the primary qualification for the elite program being “a major breakthrough or discovery, paradigm shift, or sustained impact,” Wohl was selected for her ongoing, groundbreaking contributions to understanding the geomorphology, evolution, and restoration of mountain, bedrock, and tropical rivers. Wohl will be formally awarded with her Fellowship on Wednesday, Dec. 11, during the Honors Ceremony and Banquet held at the 2013 AGU Fall Meeting in San Francisco.

Wohl has been a professor in the renowned Department of Geosciences at CSU’s Warner College of Natural Resources for 24 years, and has been invited to present her work at universities and symposiums around the world. Her primary interest area is fluvial geomorphology, with a focus on bedrock canyons and mountain rivers. Among her current research projects are long-term monitoring of in-stream wood and logjams in the mountainous headwaters of Rocky Mountain National Park, and the effects of logjams and beaver dams on channel complexity, productivity of the river ecosystems, and carbon storage.

“Professor Wohl is a leader in the geosciences field who has been driving innovative science through her collaborative research across Colorado and around the world,” said Joyce Berry, dean of CSU’s Warner College of Natural Resources. “The College is honored to have her as a member of our faculty, and our students’ academic and professional careers an enriched by her inspired teaching.”

Among her many career honors, Wohl is also a Geological Society of America Fellow and has received numerous awards, including the Gladys W. Cole Memorial Award from the Geological Society of America; Kirk Bryan Award, Geological Society of America; G.K. Gilbert Award, Association of American Geographers; and the Award for Outstanding Contributions to Interdisciplinary Water Education, Research, and Outreach, Colorado State University Water Center.

Founded in 1919, the American Geophysical Union is dedicated to furthering geophysical sciences through the individual efforts of its members and in cooperation with other national and international organizations. AGU is an international union of scientists, working together on a broad spectrum of scientific topics that span all of the Earth and space sciences.

For more information about the AGU, go to www.agu.org.