EPA leaders will visit CSU Oct. 13 to recognize achievements in environmental sciences and sustainability

Professor Eugene Chen recognized as Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award winner

Sheela Backen recognized for building CSU food recovery program

EPA to visit CSU chemistry, plant sciences and energy facilities

FORT COLLINS – U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Assistant Administrator Jim Jones and EPA Regional Administrator Shaun McGrath will join a group of senior leaders from the agency, Fort Collins Mayor Wade Troxell, and other elected officials for a half-day visit to Colorado State University on Tuesday, Oct. 13.

The EPA visit will feature award presentations citing the achievements of two environmental leaders at CSU. Professor of Chemistry Eugene Chen will be recognized as a recipient of the EPA’s Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award for his work on new, green technologies in renewable chemicals, liquid fuels and biodegradable polymers. Sheela Backen, CSU’s Integrated Solid Waste Program manager, will be recognized for her leadership in developing a campus food recovery program that is diverting waste from landfills and providing food to local food banks.

Following the ceremony, the EPA representatives will attend on-campus tours and presentations highlighting CSU environmental programs and research in chemistry, plant sciences and sustainable energy. Among the featured speakers will be former Colorado Gov. Bill Ritter, Director of the Center for the New Energy Economy.

CSU is a national leader in environmental sciences and research, which is reflected in the university’s academic departments as well as its long-held commitment to sustainability in the operations and management of its facilities.

Jim Jones, EPA Assistant Administrator for the Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention
Shaun McGrath, EPA Regional Administrator
Bill Ritter, former Colorado Governor and Director of the Center for the New Energy Economy at Colorado State University
Wade Troxell, Mayor of Fort Collins
Jeni James Arndt, Colorado State Representative
John Kefalas, Colorado State Senator
Gerry Horak, Fort Collins City Council Member

Awards ceremony, followed by tours of academic/campus facilities

Lory Student Center – Longs Peak Room
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, Colorado

Tuesday, Oct. 13
Remarks and award presentations begin at 12:30 p.m.

Media are invited to attend the awards ceremony, as well as tours and presentations at chemistry building, plant sciences building and Powerhouse Energy Campus.

Richard Mylott, U.S. EPA, 720-581-8244; mylott.richard@epa.gov
Mike Hooker, CSU, 970-491-1545; mike.hooker@colostate.edu

Media are requested to RSVP in advance to Mylott.richard@epa.gov or mike.hooker@colostate.edu