Hector Tobar to share untold stories of Chilean miners trapped underground March 30-31

FORT COLLINS AND DENVER — Pulitzer Prize-winning author and journalist Héctor Tobar will share stories of the 2010 Chilean mine collapse March 30 in Denver and March 31 in Fort Collins. He will speak as part of the Evening with an Author Series, presented by CSU Libraries, the Colorado Authors’ League, and the Denver Public Library. The events are both free and open to the public.


Tobar’s talk will draw upon his examination into the San José mine collapse that trapped more than 30 miners 700 meters underground for 69 days with dark surroundings and little food. In Deep Down Dark, Tobar recounts his visits with the miners after their rescue and how they were forever changed by the experience.


The author’s first event is Thursday, March 30, 6-8 p.m., at the Rodolfo “Corky” Gonzales Branch Library 1498 Irving St., Denver. His second event is Friday, March 31, 7-9 p.m. at the Hilton Fort Collins, 425 W. Prospect Road. Seating is first-come, first served, no tickets required.


Tobar was on the Los Angeles Times team that was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for coverage of the 1992 Los Angeles riots. He has been bureau chief for The Times in Mexico City and Buenos Aires. Named one of the 100 Most Influential Hispanics in the United States by Hispanic Business magazine, Tobar is the author of three award-winning novels in addition to Deep Down Dark, and is an assistant professor in the School of Journalism and Communication at the University of Oregon.


While Cesar Chavez Day is March 31, Denver Public Library will celebrate the life of the civil rights activist during the entire week.


The Colorado Authors’ League, Barnes and Noble, Friends of Morgan Library, Poudre River Public Library District, Poudre River Friends of the Library, the Liggett Family Endowment, City of Fort Collins Fort Fund, KUNC Radio and The Coloradoan Media Group provide support for the Evening with an Author Series.


More information about the Evening with an Author Series.